hostcanvas.blogg.se

Reddit how to make computer faster windows 2017
Reddit how to make computer faster windows 2017











reddit how to make computer faster windows 2017
  1. #Reddit how to make computer faster windows 2017 install#
  2. #Reddit how to make computer faster windows 2017 update#

Head to the Settings app, then “Update & Security” and click “For developers” in the bar on the left. Once you’re all set up, the first thing you want to do is enable Windows Developer mode.

#Reddit how to make computer faster windows 2017 update#

The update adds a lot of major improvements to Bash on Windows, most notably support for iNotify which allows file system watchers to work natively - an important requirement for me. The update should be generally available soon, but for now it’s better than the base release of Windows 10, and notably improves High-DPI displays for those using 4K monitors. Getting startedįirst up, make sure you have Windows 10 Creator’s Update installed - it takes a few minutes to enroll in the Insider Program, which lets you get free preview versions of Windows. If I can use the Windows desktop, play games, do day-to-day work and code in one place, I sure as hell want to… and Windows 10 is actually pretty damn nice, especially on great hardware. I could code on Linux, and certainly the Ubuntu desktop has come a long way from the old days, but dual-booting to Linux seems annoying to me, and I don’t want to have to configure two operating systems. I can fire it up in Windows Explorer, too, because the file systems are shared. Just like a Mac or Linux box, I can type subl.

#Reddit how to make computer faster windows 2017 install#

No awkward file mounts or VM synchronization this is real Linux.Ī simple example of how good this is: if you install Sublime Text 3 in Windows, it'll be accessible in your bash terminal if it's in your path. I can use Visual Studio Code, on Windows, with a task runner like Webpack running under Ubuntu, monitoring for changes on the same filesystem. Here's why the Windows Linux Subsystem is so good: it's the best of both worlds.

reddit how to make computer faster windows 2017

The only reason coding directly in Windows is suddenly so feasible is thanks to Microsoft’s work on the Windows Linux Subsystem, which gives you a fully-fledged Ubuntu install right at the command line - and it works surprisingly well. If you're interested in what hardware is worth using, I recommend the Surface Book 2 but have an ongoing series of laptop reviews here. How can you code in a nice way on Windows?Īs a result, I thought I’d share the setup I’ve made for my modern front-end development workflow on Windows, along with the quirks and benefits of coding on a platform like Windows 10.Last week I wrote about switching to Windows from Mac for good, and a number of people wrote in to me from one of two buckets:













Reddit how to make computer faster windows 2017